Clary Sage Oil Origin Comparison: What the Papers Show
There is no league table of clary sage countries that survives contact with the papers. Oils from one country differ by site, and oils from different countries overlap. If you are choosing a bottle, the lot's lab report tells you more than the flag on the label, and we will show the numbers that lead us to say so.
Clary Sage Essential Oil
Our own Clary Sage Essential Oil, in sizes from 0.5 oz to bulk.
From $19.99
Shop Now →The table we could build, and what it is made of
Every row below is a different study, a different method and a different sample, so read it as a spread, not a ranking. Only one row is a standard-setting document; the rest are single samples.
| Source and place | How the oil was made | Linalyl acetate | Linalool |
|---|---|---|---|
| EFSA feed additive opinion, 2024; plant material sourced from France or Russia (3 batches, GC-FID) | Steam distillation of flowering stems | 61.87 to 74.84% | 10.88 to 17.91% |
| Hristova et al., 2013; Bulgaria | Not stated in the abstract we read | 56.88% | 20.75% |
| Ovidi et al., 2021; Tuscany, Italy (liquid analysis) | Steam distillation, 3 hours, inflorescences | 62.6% | 11.1% |
| Raafat and Habib, 2018; Taanayel, Lebanon | Hydrodistillation | about 50.4% (average) | not given in our abstract |
| Raafat and Habib, 2018; Beirut, Lebanon, same week | Hydrodistillation | not given in our abstract | about 40.2% (average) |
The Lebanese pair is the row that matters. Two sites, samples collected in the same week and distilled the same way, produced what the authors classed as two different chemotypes: one dominated by linalool, one by linalyl acetate (Raafat and Habib, J. Oleo Sci., 2018). A difference of that size appeared inside one small country. It is larger than the gap between the French-or-Russian batches EFSA specified and the Bulgarian sample.
Where the oil is actually made
We can verify two things. One producer's page states that clary sage is the third most cultivated aromatic plant in France after lavender and lavandin, that the oil is steam distilled from flowering stems, that harvest runs from July to August, and that the crop is not harvested in its first year, with oil production running two to four years from the second (Givaudan, clary sage oil France). And EFSA recorded that the plant material behind the oil it assessed was sourced from France or Russia (EFSA FEEDAP Panel, 2024). We went looking for production volumes by country, and the figures we found came from a market-research summary with no primary source, so we left them out. We will not tell you that Bulgaria, Moldova, Hungary, Morocco or anywhere else is a major source unless we can show you where we read it.
Why a country name is a claim, not a measurement
- Distillation lots blend. EFSA's own entry says the material was sourced from France or Russia, a mixed origin inside one specified product.
- The plant decides more than the postcode. The Lebanese result above is the case in point. Method and batch matter too: EFSA's three-batch GC-FID table and six-batch GC-MS table put the linalyl acetate range about ten points apart (see how to read the report).
- Papers are not sorted by quality. A 2026 paper on an Algerian oil reported linalyl anthranilate at 47.75% as the main compound while the same paper discusses linalyl acetate at 1.00%, and a table row reads germacrene D at 30% against a stated sesquiterpene-hydrocarbon total of 16.30% (Djendi et al., Chem. Biodivers., 2026). Our reading is that this is an identification or typing problem. We cannot prove which, and that is the point: even a published table needs a skeptical read.
A simple way to compare: the linalool to linalyl acetate ratio
Dividing linalool by linalyl acetate turns two columns into one number. From the table: Tuscany 11.1 / 62.6 = 0.18; the EFSA three-batch means (14.81 and 68.28) give 0.22; Bulgaria 20.75 / 56.88 = 0.36; and the Lebanese high-linalool chemotype, at 40.2% linalool, is far above all of them whatever its linalyl acetate figure. Reasoning from these four values, a ratio near 0.2 to 0.4 is where the French-or-Russian, Tuscan and Bulgarian samples sit, and the Beirut-type oil would stand out immediately. Four samples is not a reference range, but it gives you a question to ask when a report arrives.
The same oil, two answers
The Tuscan study measured one oil twice. By direct liquid analysis it was 62.6% linalyl acetate and 11.1% linalool. By headspace analysis, which samples the vapour above the oil, linalyl acetate was 30.1% and linalool 28.9% (Ovidi et al., Plants, 2021). That is two different measurements, not two different oils. Reasoning from the numbers, linalool, the lighter of the two molecules, is over-represented in the vapour. For a buyer that is a practical caution: a report on the liquid describes the bottle, and a headspace figure is a different question. The smell in the room is not the bottle's composition, which is one reason origin arguments built on aroma alone prove little.
What we do about origin: nothing we cannot back
We sell two oils. The Purity oil is sold as Salvia sclarea, steam distilled from flowering tops and stems, with a Certificate of Analysis on its product page. The Botanical oil is sold as botanical grade and its page does not state a species. We are not going to name where either was grown on this page, because the evidence we can put in front of you is the lab document, not a country. For the Botanical oil, ask for lot details; for Purity, open the certificate and read it with the checklist in the report post.
A decision order that uses origin sensibly
- Decide what you need the oil to smell like. The papers above split into linalyl acetate-led oils, which fit the soft, tea-like, sweet profile described on our pages, and linalool-led oils. If you are making perfume, our linalyl acetate post explains the chemistry. This is reasoning from the composition tables, not a sniff test we ran.
- Ask for the lot report, not the country. Check that the lot number matches your bottle.
- Treat a country name as a hypothesis the report can support or contradict. A French-labelled oil with a linalool-dominant profile deserves a question.
- Let price tell you about lot and size, not region. See the price guide and how the oil is made.
Limits
This is a read of a handful of papers, not a survey of the market, and none of those samples was a commercial bottle bought off a shelf. We have not compared competing products. If a particular linalool or linalyl acetate level matters to a medical or regulatory question, that is for a pharmacist, regulatory consultant or physician, not a shop.
If you want an oil to judge by evidence rather than a flag, start from the certificate on our Purity page, and keep the carrier oil and dilution maths ready, since both oils arrive undiluted.
Clary Sage Essential Oil
Clary Sage Essential Oil from our own shop, in sizes from 0.5 oz to bulk.
From $19.99
Shop Now →Sources & Further Reading
- EFSA FEEDAP Panel, 2024. Clary sage oil feed additive opinion. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11561422
- Hristova et al., 2013. Salvia sclarea L. from Bulgaria. doi.uni-plovdiv.bg
- Ovidi et al., 2021, Plants. Laurus nobilis, Salvia sclarea and Salvia officinalis essential oils and hydrolates. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8067454
- Raafat and Habib, 2018. Salvia sclarea L. essential oils, Lebanon. jstage.jst.go.jp/article/jos/67/8
- Djendi et al., 2026. Salvia sclarea essential oil from the Algerian Edough Massif. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC13653116
- Givaudan. Clary sage oil, France. givaudan.com/print/2738436